Design Brief: Dumpster Final

Dumpster display

Final compositon piece for the dumpster design brief. Base textureing style done for the dumpster was compositing, taking many images and compressing them to fit eachother.

The idea for the theme that this piece follows is a post collapse game, something with a feel like Fallout, were everything is in either disrepair or just all together falling apart. The color chosen is meant to be one that would stand out from an urban landscape comprised of grey and tan shades. These would be used either for cover or somthing that the player could root around in to find useable objects, i.e.weapons, ammo, money.

The final product of the process uses three main maps, a diffuse, an ambient occlusion, and a normal map (all set at 512 square in size).

Design Brief Final Andom Thomas

In my final process I started off with references of grunge textures and dumpsters.  Once I found out what type of texture I wanted I started to think of how I wanted to look in terms of the scratching and worn effects.  The normal map was done with the NDO2 program and I used a tablet for the scratches and etchings inside and outside the dumpster.  I used a mixture of texture from the net and a combination of a hand painted feel to make the dumpster looked very abused.  Overall I am happy on how it turned out and I acheived the look that I wanted to accomplished.dumpsterdisplay

Design Brief Final – Dumpster – KerwanJ

Final_Composition

Click to Enlarge

My original mood board for this project was geared towards a more “military” look, but during the unwrap process, I realized that the structure of the dumpster didn’t fit the style I was going for.  It was then that I decided to alter it towards an inner city dumpster tagged with graffiti.  Rusted around the base and filled with trash, I felt this was a much more suitable style for the model.  Creating the diffuse map was fairly easy once I had my UVs laid out comfortably.  Ndo2 came in quite handy, once I was ready to move forward in creating the Specular and Normal Maps.  A quick bake in 3dsMax supplied me with a fairly decent AO map.  Simple additions of alternate assets in UDK gave it a more “belonging and believable” real-world feel.  Overall, I am pretty happy with the outcome.

The final composition was a trial and error effort in Photoshop, as I was trying to make it feel complete while showing the render in the most acceptable fashion.  I decided to layer the maps down the side as I didn’t feel it was absolutely necessary to show each one.  The most important one, the diffuse map, is in full view at the top.  I also included a listing of what maps were displayed in the final compostion as well as the overall map size.  I didn’t include the poly count as the model is not mine.  The finishing touch came once I added my logo.  A faint duplicate of my logo can be seen behind the statistics, which I included to break up the plain, boring grey.

Design Brief: Dumpster Final – Julian Gerald

Image

Here’s the final composition of my latest work, the Carni-Dumpster. This dumpster is a hand painted piece of mines, equipped with a logo I designed personally for this can.

My inspiration for making this is a general mixture of a festive carnival and small scale toilet humor. After the people of the park are done eating their food or getting tired of that silly hat they’re wearing, they can dump it in the Carnival Can. There is also an option to fill it with assortments like Candy or other carni-related things. 

This can was given a hand painted design, complimented by cell-shaded texture that was also painted atop the flat color. I wanted to replicate the in-game art style of “Dark Cloud 2”. The use of a blurred filter of fibers helped to give it is look. I also baked in shadows to help the piece. 

Diffuse Map :

Dumpster_Diffuse

This is the only map I’ve used on this piece. I’ve abandoned my thoughts of previously adding on a normal map and keeping it more cartoon styled. This came out very nicely in the end.