Case_Study #4_Textures…from scratch.

Sci_fi_metal_base_001 metal texture

My first attempt at the metal texture is can on the left. For that texture I followed the instructions straight from the book. Even thought i followed the instructions I feel like I went wrong somewhere. But in my second attempt I tried to do something much simpler, like applying a gradient color with grayish like colors and then I applied the chalk and charcoal filter and then applied the wind filter.

 

Wood_Fill_001 Wood_Fill_002

Like the textures from above, on the left is the texture I created when following the books instructions, but I confused around step 7. Next, where my changes where I made a color change and applied a ripple filter on top of the fiber filter to give it a little motion towards them.

 

 

 

2 responses to “Case_Study #4_Textures…from scratch.

  1. I really like the look of the second metal texture. The wood textures appear to be more like sandy stone. Hitting them with some more contrast would help to bring out the fibers.

  2. I too, felt that something went wrong in the metal “book” instruction. It felt more like a charcoal rock texture by the end of it. I like your second attemp, feels like sheet metal.

Leave a comment