Case Study 2_Reference

Artist Name: Jason Martin

http://about.me/jasonmartin

Worked for Blur Studios and ID Software

He was the the lead character artist for Blur studios and he worked on the cinematics for Batman: Arkham City, DC Universe, Dante’s Inferno, Star Wars: The Force Unleashed 2 and The Old Republic, mass Effect 2, BioShock 2, Resident Evil and more.

Question 1: I find it exciting that this artist can nearly bring the character to life. I find his eye for detail inspirational the most because how his textures shows the character fully. Like the fabric in the joker’s suit, the gun shown with the tyger gaurds. You can see how it shines. I also like how the lighting that is shown with the grunt from mass effect 2.

Question 2: I could take something from Jason I would take the Art Style. I feel that because of the way created the characters. It’s he started with the character’s personality and went from there. For example, the joker; we all know the joker as a psychotic and demented freak who is ugly both inside and out. I feel that Jason Martin created joker’s looks based off of who he is. He made that if anyone who looked at joker would feel fear. Also with the the tyger gaurds. Their soldiers, so they should be clean and should like their prepared for anything

2 responses to “Case Study 2_Reference

  1. I absolutely adore the armor design for Mass Effect, especially Grunt’s. One of my favorite things about armor is bulky designs that lookl ike they used to be clean, but have been worn down with use.

  2. Jason Martin is one of my favorite Industry artists…working for Blur Studios is my dream job. Glad to see someone taking the time to find a true artist!

Leave a comment