Case Study 1_Find your own way

I chose Maya because this program is always being compared to 3DS Max.I also chose to talk about Maya because it’s a program that can be used on a MAC computer.

URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iyOhRuwRoVI

Question #1:  What was their method of unwrapping?  What steps were taken and why? 

The tutorial I found, he used a 3D style of Unwrapping on. He laid out the UV map exactly similar to the to 3D model. The Steps that were taken were first he opened up the UV map with a flat mapping of the model. Then he wanted to weld or stitch them together by going to create UVs tab and select create UV based on the camera view. After he would connect the pieces together, he would then separate the fingers from the palm and the thumb from the palm by selecting cut UVs in the UV editor. He did this because he feels its the easiest way of wrapping.

Question#2: From what you saw in their tutorial, was there anything from their technique that you found interesting or unusual? Why? 

The first thing I found interesting was turning a 2D map in a 3D map. I know it’s a 3D program, but I always thought the UV mapping was only 2D.

Question#3: Knowing what you know now, and seeing others working on the same material you are, what are your expectations or feelings on the matters of unwrapping?

I feel like I’m going change my ways when it comes to unwrapping almost every time I find a new one. Sometimes I feel that best way to go about unwrapping is to go about it the easiest way possible. Honestly that is my best until i get a better understanding of unwrapping.

2 responses to “Case Study 1_Find your own way

  1. I agree about finding the easiest way of unwrapping though a short tutorial might not always be as clear it certainly can be the quickest.

Leave a comment