Project #2

Post

I saw the base model that we were given and my first thought was to do a more temple themed. Although I do remember Rob saying that it was more of a sci-fi door, or that’s what he had in mind when he was modeling it. I think the final product came out well enough. I think I managed to get the mood that I was going for. However, because I spent more time than I would have liked getting the stone texture finished, I was unable to add some of the details that I would have liked to added. I was going to add vines hanging from the ceiling. Would have been simple enough, just a plane with an opacity and diffuse map. Although having to draw the vines in by hand would have been time consuming, I think that it would have added to the piece.

To start off, I have to say that I had an unbelievably difficult time getting a seamless  stone texture. So what I ended up doing was recreating one that I had found online and made some changes to it.  After I got done with the base texture I wanted to add the vine work that would give the feeling that the place has been left alone for a while. After that was done the normal mapping played a part in giving me problems again, but I figured out a nice little trick to use with the filter in photoshop.

For the presented piece I wanted to get a close up of the wall with the sculpted out figures on it. It took me a great deal of time to take the base picture I found and make it into a decent normal map. In all honesty, that was the most time consuming part of this piece.

Any how, I hope you like it and get the same feeling that I do when I see it.

Kody Sokalski

Edit; made vines for the ceiling, and it obstructed my lighting to a degree that I did not care for, so I voted to scrap the idea.

Leave a comment