Project #1: Dumpster_CarlCarmen

Game225_Project1_moodboard_carl_carmen[1]

I thoroughly enjoyed this project. It was both fun, and allowed me to do something unique, even though we were all tasked with the same model.

My thought process was pretty static throughout the length of my progress. I wanted to try and do something original, knowing that each of us was given the same model, with mostly minor tweaks being made to the model itself, it would come down to the textures and maps we applied.

When I first got wind of the project, I immediately thought about going with a green base, and not soon after I changed that. Figured since that was my first thought, it was the most common, and went with the orange you see in the final result. I knew I wanted a worn look, and felt that the scratches did that justice. The story behind the scratches is either just years of wear and tear on the resistant metal its made out of, or one I think is a bit more fun, an intense amount of ally cats using the dumpster as their own personal clawing toy, either works for me.

Diffuse

dumpster_diffuse

There is also a decent amount of grunge, and thinning paint, throughout the metal-work, just to had some years to an already banged up look. The logo itself, which isn’t entirely intact, was a late addition, but I wanted something in the front, it was too empty with only grunge/scratches occupying the space. There is a nice amount of graffiti tagged on the outside of the can, each providing something different. I really like the family of monkeys that wrap around the bottom(Right?) edge, but they don’t take the cake on my ‘favorite’. The other two tags(not shown in the above screen grab), a both a pretty big part of my life(if you know me at all, I’m sure you can guess one of them), so there is some personal stuff used for reference throughout my creative process.

The lid also has a very low intensity Normal Map applied, just to break up the overlying gray.

Overall the entire project was fun, and I look forward to doing more in the future.

Leave a comment