Dumpster Project

DumpsterRenderDone

DumpsterRenderDone1

DumpsterDiffuse DumpsterNormal1 DumpsterSpecular

AO Map

 

DumpsterRenderDone2

layout

 

I’m not entirely sure if we were supposed to post our projects on the blog or not, Rubric said to, but I haven’t seen any post, other than one, about it. Off the bat, I kind of had this feeling that I wasn’t really going to care for this project, and I ended being right. It’s the whole dumpster thing, not really my cup of tea so to speak. But I rolled with it anyways.

I unwrapped the model and clustered the shells in an order that made sense to me, and when I look back at how I laid my shells out it still makes sense to me, and I can tell what pieces are out according to the model.

As far as texturing went I decided to go with a rather plain diffuse, and a mixed style between Team Fortress 2 and  block painting. I chose to do this style of painting because I felt that it would help simulate that weird slime that I always come across on dumpsters. I skipped out on posting the opacity map as it’s all white, I didn’t want anything to be hidden.  Spec level and color I rolled with the same map. And then I had an idea with the normal mapping. I was hoping to get the impression that maybe some little kid had a field day and throw a firecracker or M80 or something in the bottom of the bin when it was empty and it had some effects on the dumpster. I hope it feels the same way to others as it does to me. So instead of indenting the dumpster like I was originally planning, I blew it out in place. My AO mapping I wanted highlights on the side because I had my render shot planned out already.

And the final product is what you see.

Rubric said to render out a wire-frame but I didn’t see the point in doing so as Rob modeled it.

Kody Sokalski

Leave a comment