Case Study#7: Where are you at now?

If I had to pick the most influential “trick” or method that helped me along my way through this course, I’d have to say it was others work. Seeing, comparing, understanding, and not so much as mimicking, but applying a certain technique to add to my own work. I feel that seeing how others have already done what you’re in the process of doing really opens things up. It helps you create something unique, but also allowing you to apply all of the ‘good’ they put into their work. Now I’m not saying copying, or not applying any original input to your own work, but see what has worked for others, and use them in projects of your own.

 

Visiting websites that cater to upcoming artists and modelers, has been incredibly helpful. Websites such as http://www.polycount.com/, and even http://www.deviantart.com/ can showcase really interesting work, with beginners and people with years of experience simply showing off their latest pieces.

 

Going through forums of different sites, and see other people learning how to texture this, or how to model that. Following their ‘footsteps’ and going through the comment sections, that may have taken place months ago, but the steps and progress is usually right there. Usually with plenty of  pictures and advice from others.

 

The whole idea is that you don’t have to figure this stuff out on your own, it’s more then likely been done before, and people(usually) are willing to help. A lot of what I’ve applied to work throughout this course has been from what I’ve seen in other pieces of art, and tried to apply them to my projects.

One response to “Case Study#7: Where are you at now?

  1. I agree Carl, being able to see other’s work was a great deal helpful. To me it served as a handing pointing in a good direction. It helped me see what was out there and inspire me to come up with ideas that intrigued me. And lastly, Polycount was an amazing resource, I agree with you on that hands down.

Leave a comment