Assignment #2: 3-point lighting

 

 

 

IN this assignment, we used a fountain as the center piece. A three point lighting arrangement was the intended layout. I chose a target spot light for my  key light, an omni light for my fill, and free directional light for the rim. The beginning idea was intended for an army/war feel, so I went with a worn green for the color scheme, and added a plane underneath with a broken cement/cobblestone effect.

The omni light really helped do its purpose by filling in the darker shadows, while still applying an extra coat of green to the already established lighter areas. The biggest problem I ran into was with the rim light. I wanted the edge to have that slight bright light curvature to the edge, which seemed to become a bit nuance with this particular piece. Eventually I got my vision to come forth, and I feel accomplished with the final scene.

 

 

Leave a comment